christian. vegan. lover of life.

Recipe of the Week – Cheezy Crackers October 17, 2009

Filed under: recipe,Uncategorized,vegan — jeccabellezza @ 10:09 am

Since I saw this recipe a few weeks ago, I have been wanting to try it. I have never owned mini cookie cutters, so I’ve been on the look out for those so my crackers would be cute and not boring. Thankfully, my co-worker found some the other day in Wegman’s and told me about it. They are Halloween cutters, 12 in all, including 5 basic fall-ish ones (oak and maple leaves, an acorn, a pumpkin, and a half-moon). I will never use the Halloween-themed ones (unless I figure out a pleasing way to alter them), but I figured it was worth the money for just those five, since buying online would incur shipping charges anyway.

So, getting back to the recipe, they really turned out to be quite yummy! Next time I may cut the amount of salt in half or lose it all together and just sprinkle some on the tops because they are a bit too salty for me, though still very addictive. The longer I am vegan, the more easily I am able to taste all kinds of foods, particularly salt and sugar. Sometimes even a little can be too much. I also left out the pepper because I don’t generally like it and rolled them out to about 1/8″ instead of 1/4″, cutting the time in half, because they get crunchier instead of dough-like. Sorry there are no pictures. I am getting new batteries for my camera soon.

I plan to try these next… :)

 

2 Responses to “Recipe of the Week – Cheezy Crackers”

  1. Dena Says:

    Ooo! They look really yummy! I may have to grab some n.yeast tomorrow at the store and try these out for myself. What kind of milk did you use, or did you stick with water?

  2. Jecca Says:

    i used original WestSoy soy milk and added a few more drops than called for to make it into a cohesive dough. And if you haven't used n. yeast before, you may want to cut down the amount of that. It has a very distinct and unique taste that I like, but might take a bit of getting used to. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white. I think I would try a 50/50 blend next time.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.