christian. vegan. lover of life.

Odds and Ends September 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica Dixon @ 2:01 am

Hello!

Just an update for anyone who is still reading this blog…

Lately my schedule has been delightfully full. We are working 40 hours a week (and even overtime this week!) for the first time in about 3 or 4 months, which has messed up my schedule a bit, but I am readjusting quickly.

I’ve been cooking every week, but sometimes nothing new, which is why I haven’t posted any recipes. But here are a couple that I have come to love quite a bit:
homemade bread
oatmeal bars

I have been studying a lot over the past few months about Biblical Womanhood and am increasingly fascinated by God’s incredible design for us as men and women who have been uniquely made to reflect His glory. He has greatly enhanced my perspective on many of these things, which has necessitated some change to my schedule and way of life. Currently I am endeavoring to recover my lost love of sewing and making things, as well as making my home into a haven fit to entertain guests. I must confess, I have never been very organized and “clutter” defines my living space more often than not, which is not honoring to Christ, and so, I am taking this blessed three-day weekend to change some things around.

Along those same lines, I found a bunch of fabric at Wal-Mart today on the $1 and $1.50 shelves! I am so excited to use what I purchased to hopefully make some dresses, blankets, and possibly curtains for my bedroom. My project over the next two days is a very simple fall coat for myself, which I’ll share with you all if it goes well. 🙂 I’m very inexperienced in making clothing, but I’m determined to do it, so I will keep at it until I am successful.

And lastly, this was my view a couple of mornings ago and I thought you might like it:

This sunrise simply took my breath away! How beautiful is God’s handiwork.

Have a blessed week!

 

2 Responses to “Odds and Ends”

  1. Dena Says:

    Yay! Happy to hear from you again. Where do you work? Excited to hear about reawakening some domestic endeavors. I love to sew and entertain, too, but the time never seems to be there. Lately my sewing projects have been simple curtains or hemming and such. Hope that jacket turns out great!

  2. Jecca Says:

    Hey Dena!

    I work for a company that processes health insurance claims. We put the claims into the computer database. People haven't been going to the doctor as much, so we've been short on work. It usually picks up with the start of school, so we'll see how it goes.

    Your "simple projects" are much more than I've been doing lately! I'm starting to accept this cooler weather as an excuse to stay inside and sew till I can't anymore! 🙂

    The coat is going along okay, but I'm having a bit of an issue with the collar. It will have to wait till next weekend, but I'm loving how it's turning out so far! 🙂


Leave a comment