christian. vegan. lover of life.

Recipe of the Week – Pina Colada April 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica Dixon @ 5:57 pm

It’s a day earlier than normal, but hopefully tomorrow I’ll have pics of a finished quilt to show.

I came home early from work today, as has been the case for months now, and it was just as hot here at the lake as in the city, which is unusual. It has quickly moved from winter weather to summer weather, and honestly, I’m not really a fan of it. Give me 70s and a light breeze and I’m pretty satisfied. But 80 on April 2 is a bit much. Snow would be worse though, so I’m still grateful.

Anyway, earlier this week I made coconut veggie rice noodles and had a bit of coco milk leftover. Pineapples are also on sale this week at Tops for 1.88/ea. So I just happened to have the ingredients on hand to make a yummy little drink. My first pina colada (sans alcohol) was probably in middle school at a friend’s annual New Year’s party. I really loved the flavor combination. I’ve had a few more in the last 15 years, but when I became vegan, my hopes of having one again were dashed because the standard store-bought/restaurant mixture has milk in it. Enter: fresh ingredients and a blender.

Blend:
1/4 can of coconut milk
1/4 of a fresh pineapple
1 tsp of sugar (to taste, if needed)
Add:
6 or 7 ice cubes

Blend and pour into a pretty little glass 🙂 Makes 2 cups. (I know my backgrounds are always really awful and the drink was much more pale than in this picture, but it was delicious regardless).

 

Leave a Reply

